Kirk Braddan

About our parish and the Isle of Man

Above Union Mills

The ecclesiastical parish of Braddan in the Isle of Man is about 6 miles long and 2 miles wide, and lies to the south and west of the town of Douglas, the capital of the Island, which is on the east coast. The parish includes the Anagh Coar, Ballaughton and Farmhill suburbs of Douglas, as well as the villages of Union Mills and Kewaigue within a rural area stretching from near the east coast to Mount Rule. Its population, according to the 2011 census, is 8,279 (2006 = 8,105).

The ancient parish of Braddan was larger, and included much of the urban area of Douglas, as well as the remote East and West Baldwin valleys. It comprised the Douglas parishes of St George's (now St George and All Saints), St Barnabas' (later merged with St George's), St Matthew's, and parts of St Thomas' and St Ninian's, which were established in the 19th and early 20th centuries. The Baldwin area, including the chapel of St Luke's, was transferred on 3 July 1978 to the ecclesiastical parish of Marown (now Marown, Foxdale and Baldwin).

With effect from 1 November 2012 two further areas were transferred from the parish of Braddan to neighbouring parishes. An area between the Middle River and Douglas Head became part of the parish of St Matthew, Douglas, and an area between Mount Murray and Port Walberry, including part of the Mount Murray estate, Port Soderick, Oakhill and Quine's Hill, became part of the parish of Santan (now Malew and Santan).

To see whether a place is within the parish, open the Isle of Man Government Maps webpage, go to the 'Local Information' map, enter the address or postcode, or drag the pin to the location, and click on "C of E Ecclesiastical Boundaries".

The Isle of Man — The Diocese of Sodor and Man

Manx Flag The Isle of Man is about 32 miles long and 12 miles wide, and lies in the Irish Sea between England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland (Lat 54° 10´ N, Long 4° 30´ W). With a population of about 70,000, it is an autonomous dependency of the British Crown outside the United Kingdom, and has its own government and its own parliament, called "Tynwald".
Bishop's coat of arms The island forms a separate diocese of the Church of England, with its own bishop, within the province of York. The diocese is called "Sodor and Man", and the bishop bears the title "Bishop of Sodor and Man": this recalls the time, before the 14th century, when the Isle of Man and the western isles of Scotland (the Sudrys in Old Norse) formed a single kingdom and bishopric. The cathedral church of the diocese is at Peel on the west coast.

Isle of Man Parishes and their Churches and Chapels
Diocesan Bishop and other officials
Isle of Man benefices and their patrons
Mission partnerships

Photograph © Jon Warnham (licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence)

Manx Crab